Donde esta la Biblioteca, Pedro?

OakMonster.com - Doctor Who - Silence in the Library

If you aren’t familiar with Dr. Who, the quote still stands.

I am quite happy to announce that I have been offered a job! Yesterday I went in to sign paperwork to become one of the newest members of the Fresno County Library team.

It’s a part time, just-above-minimum-wage gig. Is that what I wanted to do with a bachelors in psychology? Nope. Am I pleased as punch to get the opportunity? You bet!

It fits in well with my interests, I think. What better place for an aspiring novelist than a library? It’s the type of laid back, easy going, quiet job I wanted. And better yet, I have evaded working retail during the holiday frenzy. Score!

I will be working at a library not located in Fresno, which means I will be eating the gas cost of a 45 minute commute (one way). To ease the burden, my parents live about 15 minutes from the library I was assigned to, so I may be crashing there more frequently.

On Monday and Tuesday upcoming I have orientation for the county of Fresno, and then I have orientation for the library the rest of the week. I won’t even get to go to my actual location until the week after, but that’s fine. It’s all good.

One thing I’m loving: not working in downtown Fresno. Ugh, what a mess! One way streets, horrific traffic, clogged highways…no thanks! The commute to the rural library may be long, but it’s hardly crowded and the scenery is beautiful. Silver linings, folks.

About Sylvestris

Gamer, nerd, book worm, baker.
This entry was posted in Books, My Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

