Sad Sack

Thanksgiving is the perfect time of year for mass  kitchen appliance failure. Don’t you agree?

A few days ago I was busy baking snacks for my sister, who was coming by to hang out for a few hours. I had trail mix, baked apple chips (sooo good) and I was about to roast some garlic chickpeas as a healthy snack. I turned the oven up to 400 degrees and went about my business washing and patting dry the peas (beans?) when I heard an odd noise.

It sounded quite honestly like I had a frantically panicking rat trapped in my oven. Like a rattling, banging, shaking sound. Not a sound you typically hear from an oven. So I opened the door, saw a bunch of blinding white light and sparks, slammed the door closed and quickly turned off the oven.

I cracked the door again and watched as the oven coils cooled down. They were black except for one small area on the bottom, which was glowing molten red and looked like it may have melted and/or cracked. Bad sign!

Suffice it to say that my oven is currently out of commission and there’s really no telling when it will be fixed. Any dyed-in-the-wool baker chick knows how disconcerting (devastating, really) it is to have your oven on the fritz and not be able to bake. Don’t even get me started on all the roasted veggies I’m missing out on.

Oh oven, my oven, come back to me soon!

About Sylvestris

Gamer, nerd, book worm, baker.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

