This Post Not to Scale

Monday morning was my first weigh day. I bought a scale, I bought a whiteboard to record my weight. The only thing Target couldn’t sell me was a little self confidence, and I could really have used it.

It’s been several months since I started this “eating better and exercising” thing. Probably close to 3 months by now. I thought I would have lost a little bit of weight. Ten pounds would have been amazing. I would have settled for 5.

I guess the problem is I didn’t know for sure how much I weighed when I started. A few months beforehand I had visited the doctor, who weighed me, and I think I remember the number the nurse blurted out (thanks a lot, dude). But I was perhaps mistaken, or deluding myself, because the number on my scale now is vastly different. Twenty pounds different. I have not gained twenty pounds.

It’s shocking to see that kind of number on a scale, and while I know logically a number does not define my worth as a human being, it does have a larger-than-expected impact on my self esteem and confidence. I’ve been feeling really good these past few months. I walk 2 miles every day, and I have been making conscious choices to eat healthier foods. I felt like I was on the way to something awesome, but according to my scale, I might as well have not even bothered.

I think the most important thing to take away from this is what I just said: I felt good during those months. I enjoyed getting outdoors, walking around, eating better foods…those are positive things regardless of how much weight actually disappeared as a result. I got a tan (and a few minor sunburns) and I got active. Those are good.

When I feel like this I just remind myself of all the reasons I started this little journey. It’s not about an end number. It’s about an end feeling. I want to feel good about myself again. And when I do, I’m going to laugh in my stupid scale’s face.

…also, I’m visiting my folks this weekend, so I am gonna hop on their scale and see what happens. There is always the chance mine is wrong!

About Sylvestris

Gamer, nerd, book worm, baker.
This entry was posted in Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

