Trials

It hasn’t been an easy week, if you’ll allow me a bit of understatement. I try to stay positive about things. It’s something my grandmother drilled into my head as a kid. Over the years I have come to understand that life can suck pretty hard sometimes but being negative about it doesn’t help anything.

On Thursday I got a phone call from my mom in the late evening. This was strange by its self because she doesn’t usually call me. We more often text. She told me that it looked like my dog was dying and he might not live through the night. So I packed and overnight bag and made the 45+ minute drive up the hill in the dark to say goodbye. Or so I thought.

I am immensely thankful that it was a false alarm. When I got there he seemed fine. Old and frail and sleepy, but fine. Mom said he hadn’t eaten in 3 days, which is what his sister did before she died. But I was able to get him to eat out of my hand and he devoured a few pieces of baked ham. He was also drinking plenty. Mom cooked him a homemade dinner of chicken and rice and he ate all of that, so we’ll see. But even with this bit of good news I don’t predict he’ll live much longer. He is 14, after all.

And to make everything just that much less awesome, The Boy lost his job this weekend over something he didn’t do. The kicker is that the guy who did do it is still employed. So while we work to get this taken care of and hopefully get his job back I’m freaking out because we have no income.

Through all of this it was very tempting to eat like a cow (if, you know, cows ate chocolate and hamburgers) and sit on my butt and feel sorry for myself. It’s so easy to revert back to unhealthy habits when you’re upset, and doubly so for me because one of my big triggers for eating is stress. Visiting my folks is also an issue because they always have snack food around the house, so I admit I had some snacks I otherwise would have avoided. It was one day. I think I can move past it.

Back to the daily grind. Walking, eating right, drinking absurd amounts of water. And trying very hard to find a job. Cheers.

About Sylvestris

Gamer, nerd, book worm, baker.
This entry was posted in Ranting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

