Something Smells in Fresno

I took my daily walk around noon today and about half a block from my apartment I was hit by the rankest stench. I have no idea where it came from. I don’t live near anything remotely like a sewage treatment plant or a dump or anything smelly like that. The only think I could think of was the swine unit on the college campus, but I’ve been here for nearly 3 years and have never smelled anything like this before. It was like poopy baby diaper and rotten garbage all mixed together. Needless to say, it made it hard to enjoy this otherwise beautiful, sunny day.

In other news, happy belated Easter to you all. I hope it was a wonderful weekend regardless of what holiday you celebrated. My family is fairly secular, so we don’t exactly celebrate Easter in the traditional sense. We use it more as an excuse to get together and eat a lot (the basis of any good American holiday). It was an absolutely gorgeous day in the country: bright blue skies, a fair breeze, and just a hint of summer warmth. We took it as an opportunity to get outside and wander around, because for only a month or so the hills are green and the wildflowers bloom. In another couple of weeks, the grass will seed and die and it will be too hot to go outside. Such is life in central California.

We BBQ’d a tri-tip, harassed the pigs, collected chicken eggs, burned some brush piles, played some board games, and watched a bit of television. Just after dark a thunderstorm blew in from nowhere and I ended up having to wait it out before I could drive home. Strange how temperamental the weather is this time of year.

About Sylvestris

Gamer, nerd, book worm, baker.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

