Walking Woes (and other stuff)

I bought a very nice pair of Nike cross trainers but apparently they aren’t making nice with my feet. After a week of walking I had blisters the size of half dollar coins on my feet, one of which popped and became excruciating to walk on. So I hobbled around on that for a few days and as a result stressed my leg muscles out. I was tempted to stay home and give it a rest for a few days, but I knew darn well if I did I wouldn’t ever return to walking. So I thoughed it out. Go me I think.

So begins week 3 of eating healthier and exercising more. Is it working? I have no clue. I have no measurements with which to gather data. That is the next step. I have to get over my fear of scales first (cursed, horrid things they are). But I feel better. Mentally and physically. I feel less bored, less irritable, and more active. Getting out in the sunshine is good for the body and for the soul, and as long as the weather here in Hell Fresno is tolerable, I am going to continue doing it. I am also much more tired at the end of the day, which makes falling asleep so much easier. It’s really been a win-win situation, regardless of if it actually resulted in any weight loss.

Step two of my long-term plan to stop being a lazy blob is to actually begin data collection. Oh boy, there’s the little scientist in me speaking up again. Possibly next week, more likely the week following, I am going to purchase a scale. Queue the horror movie scream, please. And then I am going to use this scale. Actually use it. Not stuff it in the corner of the bathroom and hide from it.

I have decided not to weigh myself every day. Weight fluctuates. And seeing an increase of even a pound is enough to make me fling myself upon the floor in fits of misery. So I am going to weigh myself every week. And then I am going to record this number in a visible place (I’m thinking of a white board hung on the wall in the bathroom somewhere) so that I can see every day what my goal is and how close I am to achieving it.

I know I’m not alone in this journey. There are a lot of girls like me who are fed up with being overweight. I love finding little bits of inspiration around the web, telling me to keep going and don’t give up, so here’s my little bit of inspiration for you: what do you want more? That candy bar you’ve been craving for a few hours, or the body you’ve been wanting for years? For me the answer is pretty simple, and it has helped me make better food choices these past few weeks.

It’s not about making huge, drastic changes all at once. It’s about making small, lasting changes that help you achieve and maintain a lifestyle that doesn’t end in morbid obesity, diabetes, heart disease, and death.

Anyway. I just got back from the dentist and I’m feeling up to a walk (a hobble?) so that’s enough out of me.

About Sylvestris

Gamer, nerd, book worm, baker.
This entry was posted in Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Walking Woes (and other stuff)

  1. This was a great reminder/perspective post for me… especially today when I’m feeling quite tired and like I could give in to that proverbial candy bar pretty easily. Thank you for your encouraging words and positive attitude; cherish that about yourself because it is truly a GIFT. xoxo, g.

Leave a Reply

